Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 12

Daddy and Mama at Aunt Lib's

Today would have been my parents' fiftieth wedding anniversary. I would have loved to have thrown a party, had they lived.

Pieces introducing them are here and here. It's no secret that my mother especially had a lot of influence on me---my father died a week before my fourth birthday, so his influence was more indirect. It was there, but was shared with me by family and friends.

They've both been on my mind this week. Yes, I do have memories of Daddy. And yes, I wonder how my life would have been different if he had lived.

A few years ago, after getting the idea from my friend Donna, I started frequently wearing Mother's wedding ring from Daddy between two other rings on the ring finger of my right hand.

When I do this, often the ring at the base of the stack is a family ring that I had made for Mother a lot of birthdays ago. It has two yellow topaz stones, to represent her November birthday and mine, and a pearl, representing Daddy's June 1 birthday. A jeweler here made it, and I knew eventually it would be mine to wear. So did Mother, and the notion of the continuity of the symbols pleased us both.

When I wear those rings, I feel a lot of continuity, and a lot of love. And remember once again what a lucky child I was, to have come into the world with them as parents.

On this day especially, I wear the rings, and cherish the memories.

top to bottom: star cluster, wedding band, family ring
The lineup from today, minus my finger---it's really hard to scan your own hand. The star cluster at the top is a favorite of mine, but has no relevance to the entry.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text and images � copyright 2000-2002 Becky