Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 5

One of the things I did this evening was catch up on some message board posts. I was reading a thread about online journals, and what people hate to see in them. It struck me that the comments were divided fairly evenly about one thing: people (a) hated it when writers wrote for the readers, or (b) hated it when writers didn't write for the readers. My take? Write whatever you want to write. Readers will or will not read based on whether or not they like what they find, or on circumstances that may not have anything at all to do with what you've written.

But do try to clear up confusion, if you cause it. Late this afternoon, as we were leaving the office, Wendy reminded me that I had made an obscure remark in my entry yesterday, when I commented on sharing my lunch with office dog Zoe. She pointed out that anyone who didn't know the back story would have grounds for being confused.

For the benefit of any of those who are wondering if I get some of my daily nutritional requirements from the nearest pet store, no, I didn't mean to say that I eat dog biscuits for lunch. Often, while I'm having lunch, Zoe has a dog biscuit. Yesterday, since it was Zoe's birthday, I made sure I brought something I could share. This is more thoroughly explained here. Sorry for the confusion!

I have an assortment of journals that I read, most of which are on my links list. All of them have one thing in common: I find their writing interesting. Their styles are different, their situations are different, and why they are of interest to me is different. But they all have captured my attention for some reason or other, and continue to hold it. And I miss the ones noted on that page who have quit updating. It would be my pleasure to read their thoughts again, and of course to reactivate the links should any of them come back (hint, hint).

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky