Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 2

I've decided to stay with the group I was deciding about last night, in part because recent weirdness aside, they are a wonderful group of people. So I've spent an inordinate amount of time tonight working on the links project. I'm about 65 per cent through with my part of it, and will be glad to be done.

While I was hard at it, I took a few mental health breaks to chat with some friends. Mainly we were talking about life in general. I allowed as to how I was tired (once again) of being a grown up. I'm ready for recess and a popsickle.

I don't want to relive my whole childhood, by any stretch of the imagination. And I truly appreciate the freedoms and the responsibilities that come with being an adult. But there were some really fun moments that I would not mind revisiting, especially on days when I've been a grown up entirely too long.

The first birthday I had after my mother died, while I was in the middle of settling her estate and trying to get some idiotic mistakes in her insurance claims sorted out, I bought myself a present that exemplified the sentiments expressed above. It's a mug, with some cartoon figures on it. The caption is "This being an adult is overrated."

On days when I need recess and a popsickle, I could not agree more.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky