Becky Says...

March 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Gift --- March 3

Some of you who have known me other than through this site know that I love butterflies, which in my tradition are symbolic of the Resurrection. That is a hugely important thing to me, and I rarely wander out in the world without wearing something with a butterfly on it. I don't think I've said so here before now. No special reason I haven't; it just hasn't come up.

Another theme that runs through my life is that of sun, moon, and stars. Those go along with the whole notion that we as humans are part of the universe, and are meant to be here.

And I've told you a few times that blue is my favorite color. Blue is the color that represents both hope and peace to me.

I mentioned that when I got home from work Monday there was a surprise waiting for me. Someone took the time to send me something precious: a pendant, that has a butterfly on it as a focal point. It is a cloisonné orb, and also has some small stars on it. The background is dark blue, and deep inside there is a bell with a clear, lovely, rich tone.

The clarity of the bell's tone pleases me musically and on other levels. Clarity is a good thing; an antidote to dissonance and confusion. And the bell itself reminds me of life. Of all the bells that have been important in my life. Of cultures and religions and the significance of bells therein.

A friend who was among the first to know of this latest butterfly in my life comented on how clearly the gift represented me. She also pointed out that if I laughed when I was wearing it, the bell rang. And it does, very gently.

I'm not sure whether the sender of Monday's gift knew of my feelings about butterflies, and stars, or if this was serendipity. Either way, it has brought me much joy, and will continue to do so.

It's been a long time since anything touched my soul quite so profoundly.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Beth has started a ring of journallers who plan to update daily for the rest of Lent. The ring is called "Saving Kymm's Soul," in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent. She'll need a handy list of archives to search as she celebrates Easter, and we thought we'd help her out. The list of ring members is here.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky