Becky Says...

January 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 11

It's time for a refresher course in passing along e-messages, otherwise known as forwarding e-mail. This became obvious today as I deleted one that was over 100k. I wish I had thought to count how many times that one had been forwarded before it arrived in my inbox. Anyway, the rules:

Rule number one: Don't do that. If you want to share something, please take the time to paste it into a blank e-mail form and to remove the forwarding marks.

Rule number two: If for some reason you just have to do it, please apologize to those receiving it, and explain why it is you don't have time to clean up the thing. An acceptable excuse would be something along the lines of your house being on fire, and you were checking e-mail while waiting for the fire department...

Rule number three: Pay attention to the people who are on the receiving end of your message. Those people may not think the thing is as funny or as inspiring as you do, and might not want to hurt your feelings by telling you.

Rule number four: If you don't know how to do the things noted in rule one, please ask someone. You're welcome to ask me. I don't care if you're a complete stranger to me; I'll be more than happy to send you instructions.

Rule number five: Remember that if you send me another forwarded piece, I will give your e-mail address to my most persistent spammers.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky