Becky Says...

January 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 2

It's snowing outside. It started well after I got home from work, and it's still coming down, rather quickly. I'm all safely in, with plenty of food and plenty to keep me interested for a few days, which is just as well. They're calling for around twelve inches. I don't know that I'll get back to the law firm this week. North Carolina pretty much does shut down when we get much snow ("much" being basically any depth that sticks to the roads), since we don't have a lot of snowplows. And this year we have even fewer in use, since state budget cuts have kept various counties from hiring new drivers to replace those who left their jobs for other employment.

I had to stop on my way to work, to go to the bank and to get a few things from the grocery store. No, this wasn't a snow-is-coming trip for me; it was a planned one. I usually make a midweek trip to the store for bread or soft drinks. Today, I got both of those, and a couple of other things. It's a good thing I could use the express lane---the store was just packed with people stocking up for staying in. I was one of the few people not pushing a cart laden with enough food and supplies for a regiment.

I will say this snowstorm is not my fault---I was not out of coffee or cigarettes. Whoever was is responsible for making the snow elves come this direction.

Work was good. I knew I would have a good day there when Zoe-the-Golden was especially glad to see me. She ordinarily comes out to my desk to greet me, but today she stayed a few extra minutes, just cuddling. And I love that.

Also, I have a favorite client at the firm, and she came by for a few minutes. This client is one of the reasons I'm so glad to be working there. The attorneys like her, too. She's one of those people who can make the day better no matter what has gone on, just because she has the sort of personality that can do that. It is always a pleasure to see her. So, all in all, it was a really good day to be at work.

I decided to take the camera outside to see what I could show you of the snowfall. The first picture is of my car (which is the upper one of the two), taken without flash, just to see how that would work. I sorta liked the effect.


cars---no flash


Here's another car picture, this time with flash.


cars---flash used


And finally, the boxwood just outside my front door.


Boxwood outside my apartment


Text and images � copyright 2000-2002 Becky