Becky Says...

January 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 1

Happy New Year!

I hope your wishes and dreams come true in the coming year. And mine, too.

I was planning to do a couple of things today, but decided they could wait a bit. I gave myself the whole day off to read and watch television and nap. And the nap ended on a weird note. I woke up not quite sure what day it was nor whether the time was a little after 6:00 a.m. or p.m. That sorted itself out when I turned on the television---the news was on, and the evening anchors were doing the show. I was a little afraid I had missed a day somewhere, and was glad that wasn't the case.

It is not my habit to do much celebrating on New Year's Eve. I tend to stay home and watch television, and make sure I am awake at midnight to see the ball drop in Times Square. Yes, that probably sounds boring. But it works for me, and it's nice not to have to deal with the potential of unplanned encounters with drunk drivers.

And I never have worried too much about the traditional New Year's meal. As I told a friend, my luck in the years I've partaken of it hasn't been any different than in the years when I've skipped it, and I'm not fond of collards. So I usually just have whatever I want to eat, unless I'm with my cousins and they want to do the traditional thing.

The sentiments expressed above are not meant to dismiss the feelings of those of you for whom it works! It's just that the things that seem to bring me good luck are not those foods eaten on New Year's Day.

However you spent the day, I hope you enjoyed it.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky