Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 16

It's almost time for me to get out the Beckyland Christmas decorations. I've had my Advent wreath ornament out already, but the rest of the things are waiting to appear. The decorations will again include the little Christmas tree that is a never-lit candle.

Even if I had the place for it, I doubt I would have a natural Christmas tree, mainly because I really don't have time to tend it, and untended Christmas trees can be such fire hazards. All I don't need is to set the place on fire.

Earlier today, some friends posted to a message board about Christmas trees and traditions in their homes. That made me think of think of my childhood tree memories. I thought I'd share those memories with you, too.

When I was a little girl, it used to cause me much sadness when it came time to dispose of the Christmas tree. It wasn't the undecorating that got to me, but actually disposing of the tree. It just never struck me as being okay to throw away a tree (that was back in the days before there was "tree-cycling").

My mother, wise woman that she was, fixed that problem. One year, for my November birthday, she bought me an artificial tree. It was mine to set up, decorate, undecorate, and dismantle each year. And I loved it, especially since it meant no tree had to get thrown away.

We used that tree for years, then came life changes that cut into the decorating time. A few years ago, after some years of not using it, I sold the tree to someone who loved it as much as I do. It gets used yearly in its new home, and that pleases me almost as much as if it were still being set up in mine.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Want to read my holiday letter? You may already know most of its content, but if you want to see what I'm saying to the family and friends, go here.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky