Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 14

Things I just plain don't have time for right now:

Moral dilemmas.

E-mail outages at my main e-mail address.

Whiny people.

People who ask personal questions they have no right to ask.

People who offer advice without knowing one damned thing about the backstory.

Those same people being so positive they know how you should live your life they purse their lips and make that "tsk" noise when they find out you've done the opposite of what they said do.

People who show up out of the blue and think you should rearrange your time to suit their appearance.

December 13

One of the clients came into the law firm this afternoon, while Zoe (office dog) and I were keeping each other company. The client wanted to see one of the attorneys, and would have followed me down the hall to her office except I turned around and told him to have a seat. Zoe kept him occupied till I could get the attorney into the conference room.

Then I went into one of the offices to pick up something I needed to work on. When I came back to my desk, it was to see the client following the attorney over to the copy room. Zoe was bringing up the rear of the parade. And it finally was clear to me---that client is himself a large puppy dog, and that's why he likes coming to the office so much. Our firm not only is a good law firm, but also lets him come have playtime with Zoe.

No, the firm doesn't bill for Zoe time as a separate item. Her salary is considered part of the overhead. She is definitely worth every biscuit she gets paid.

Oh--someone asked the other day how her name is pronounced. It's two syllables, (Zoh-ee), in case you're curious, too.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky