Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines




December 8

I'm helping Santa this weekend. Seems a certain young lady needs socks with beads on the edges. This requires some crocheting, and Santa asked me to do the job. The main thing about the socks is the beads have to rattle. Otherwise, they're no good at all.

Silent socks may work if you're older than age five-and-a-half, but at that stage of life, the rattling is the thing. And I understand. I'm glad I can help Santa with this one.

I'm also glad Santa had some beads, because when I went shopping for them, I couldn't find any that were suitable. These beads not only need to rattle when they smack each other, they also need to stay intact through the encounter. That means glass beads would not do. And the only beads I could find hereabouts were glass. Santa came through, and I'm having fun.

And I'm having a chance to do something else fun: introduce you to Fred's new journal. I found out about it a few days ago, when I was reading a post from Fred on a message board. I like the writing, and I think you will, too.

December 7

A client gave me a small bonus this week when writing a check to cover my invoice. And today I took advantage of having that small amount of spare cash...I took myself out to lunch. That may not sound significant, but it was---I haven't done that in a very long time.

I usually take something from home to eat for lunch, but today I forgot to do that. Which I didn't realize until I was getting out of my car at the law firm. So when I got hungry, I left work for a few minutes and went to my favorite deli. I got my favorite turkey sandwich. The fun part part of this is that one of the people who works there, who hasn't seen me in well over a year, not only remembered me, but remembered exactly what I wanted on the sandwich. And that nice gesture made my day.

We had a little polite chitchat, during which I said that the only reason I hadn't been in was that I was on a very tight budget that pretty much didn't have lunch money in it. After all, I certainly didn't want him to think he had made the sandwich wrong the last time.

For the record, today's was delicious.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky