Becky Says...

November 1, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






All Saints

This one comes with a warning: my heart is on my religious sleeve today. If you don't want to read this, that's okay.

It's All Saints' Day, commonly the day when we commemorate the lives of those who have died. The Church refers to the dead as the Church Triumphant, and to those of us on earth as the Church Militant. There's your religious trivia for the day. Anyway, this member of the Church Militant has been thinking about my own saints this day...those who have gone on before me.

It's been a lot of years since I could take the emotions stirred up by attending an All Saints' Day service. But usually I find myself humming "For All the Saints" at odd silent moments during the day. And today was no exception.

Each of my saints left me the better for knowing them. But it's hard to think of them all on one day without an overwhelming sense of sadness and loss. I've written about many of them---my father, my mother, the first of the chosen brothers, and a few special relatives and friends. There are others whose stories I've touched upon, without actually doing a whole entry about them.

All of these people have had a huge impact on me. And I am grateful for having had them in my life. I celebrate their lives, and their being now in a better place.

But this day, I miss them all.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky