Becky Says...

September 22, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Several for Saturday

As you can see from the sidebar, the spammers have caused another change. At least for the present, there is not an e-mail link to click. Please feel free to write, of course.

I should count myself lucky, I suppose. I haven't received any religious spam since the terrorist attack. I have heard from acquaintances that there's some truly sappy stuff floating around out there, and I'm glad I've been spared. I suppose that stuff brings comfort to some people, but it does not to me.

I've spent some time today updating the Counsel Giver site. Although you may have just read the two newest essays there, since they originally appeared this week on either this site or on David's, please feel free to read them again or read any of the other essays found there. The essays are there to be read as often as you'd like.

The local PBS affiliate is planning to rebroadcast the September 14 Prayer Service from National Cathedral. I'm not sure if I'm going to watch the whole thing, but I will watch the first bits of it again. The music chosen for it particularly appealed to me.

By the way---some church information in case you aren't up on clergy vestments: those black clergy stoles the Episcopalians were wearing for the service have nothing to do with death. Those stoles, called tippets, are worn for services of morning or evening prayer, and at other services when there is not a celebration of the Holy Eucharist.

I have crocheted clergy stoles, two of them, as gifts. One for a Lutheran pastor, and one for an Episcopal priest. My Lutheran friend's was gold, to be used only on Easter Day. And my Episcopalian friend got green, for the season of Pentecost. Both stoles had appropriate symbols for the seasons, and both were a joy to make.

Okay, I'm all over the place tonight. I've gone from spam to religious spam to counsel to church things to crocheting. I think this means I'm tired and should say goodnight now.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky