Becky Says...

August 18, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Down Memory Lane

Someone asked a question on a message board about decisions that changed your whole life. I replied to it, and have been thinking about it, so I thought you might like to know the tale.

For me, the most life-changing thing I ever did was get up one Sunday morning and decide to go to church. No, this is not some religious conversion episode. This has to do with how one thing you do leads to other things.

From that one day most everything that has happened in my local life has sprung. I went to work at Non-Profit Agency #1 as a result of contacts made that day (although the job happened several years later). From some of the people I met that day, I wound up meeting and making friends with people involved in Non-Profit Agency #2, where I subsequently went to work.

And some of the friends I made through the church I still have. That was a long time back, and this area has a very fluid population, so I count myself lucky. Wendy is one such friend, though I don't think I actually met her that first day.

The job with the law firm first happened because Wendy's parents were on my Christmas card list. While on a family visit the Christmas of 1995, Wendy read my Christmas letter, in which I said that I was doing freelance work. She called me in mid-January of 1996 to ask if I'd be interested in working for the firm some. I said yes, and worked for them part-time for several years. You may recall that recently she asked me to come back on an interim basis, and I will be doing that soon.

Not everything that happened as a result of that Sunday morning worked out so well, of course. I met Prince Charming through people I met that day, and that did not work out well in the end. But I still am glad to have had the experience.

It's nice to have a specific day to point to as the start of the rest of my life, and of course I'm pleased that so much of what has happened after that point has gone well.

I will admit occasionally wondering what would have been different if I had slept in!

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky