Becky Says...

August 11, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Early Saturday

Friday night was rainy and stormy. There were several storms passing through the area, and the rain was pretty constant. It actually started raining Friday afternoon, about five minutes after I got home from running errands.

I am taking that as a good sign---things have worked out unexpectedly well this week, and that I didn't have to haul things in from the car while dealing with rain was another pleasant thing.

On the agenda for this weekend is some housework. I'm in a mood to clean and sort. As I've said before, when one of those sorting moods hits, I have to go with it. If I don't, the work has to wait for the next time the sorting urge hits.

If I try to sort through things when I'm not in the mood, it's guaranteed not to happen. I'm one of those people who can be easily distracted if I don't really want to finish a sorting project. I start out with good intentions, but it just doesn't get finished.

For instance, I can start to go through a stack of books or magazines, and find myself still seated in the middle of the floor beside the stack, several hours later, having stopped to read just one tiny little article or book chapter. You know what that means, of course: I got caught up in whatever was written there and went on to read more. The tiny little article led me to the next, or the chapter got my interest and led me to continue with the book.

And then there's that other distraction, the computer. Sometimes its siren song is just too strong to resist. Especially if there's e-mail to answer or a fresh batch of journal entries to read.

On days like that, when I'm not in the mood to sort, procrastination becomes my favorite hobby.

So while the mood is with me, it's best to act on it.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky