Becky Says...

August 6, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Arts and Crafts

I watched a show on our local PBS station tonight about some of the artists and craftspeople in North Carolina. It was not long enough to cover the wide variety of things made here, but it did do a good overview of several things, including the lovely pottery.

Apparently we North Carolina artists and crafters are very good at hiding our lights under bushels. For instance, one of the potters said it never failed that people came to the Jugtown area (guess what that was named for?) and expected all the pottery to be just alike, with the possible exception of colors. He went on to say he enjoyed seeing the visitors' faces light up when they went into a second shop and found completely different merchandise than had been in the first.

Some of the potters, at least, are getting some exposure because some of their works are shown in galleries nationwide. Many of the other artists and crafters are not having such luck at getting out from under the bushels. I'm beginning to think we need to start a statewide support group, or at the very least, a statewide webring.

Actually, I like that webring idea, so much that I believe I'll look into it tomorrow. It's possible that one already exists, that I don't know of. Can't hurt to look into it.

In the meantime, if you know of any North Carolina artists or craftspersons, please drop me a note and tell me what you can of them (where they are, what they do, and a URL if you have it). It doesn't matter if I already know of them---this is truly a situation where I'd rather hear something several times than risk missing it. And at the very least, it would be interesting information to have on hand.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky