Becky Says...

May 22, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Aftermath II

Well, the Kaycee hoax story has gone a bit further today than I had thought it would when I got involved in it last week. I am pleased that so many people are looking into the darkest corners and shedding light where it needs to be shed. A new thread started at MetaFilter. A group has been started at Yahoo Groups. A story is to be in the Wednesday edition of the Peabody Gazette-Bulletin in Kansas. And the story has made it to MSNBC. I suspect it will continue to be covered far and wide before it is over.

And I'm not the only one who has found the whole thing a bit overwhelming. Saundra says the story has gone further than she expected it to, also.

Truth be told, I don't mind the publicity a bit. I can think of a lot worse things to be recognized as than a person whose desire for truth helped break up something despicably ugly. I rather think both of my parents would be proud of me

A side benefit to this has been hearing from some really wonderful people, both inside the journalling community and outside. Some of this has been through e-mail, and some through chats. I deeply appreciate the positive comments I've received.

I did have one funny moment this evening. A friend who is not very familiar with things Internet called. It was not easy to explain briefly what I had been doing the last few days. I think I could hear her eyes glazing over at one point---so I decided to change the subject.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky