Becky Says...

May 17, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Southern Belle Bites Back

Oh dear. Someone who came to North Carolina for the most recent furniture show in High Point didn't have a really good time. And she got all cranky about it.

David has commented on a few of her remarks. I thought I would say a bit, too, since I know the place somewhat.

Oh poor Ms. Thing. I am so terribly sorry you had such a bad time in North Carolina on your recent trip. Perhaps your cranky little comments were provoked more by tiredness than you realized. You know, I love wearing high heeled shoes, but I get the ones with a little comfort padding in them when I'm gonna be strolling over that much territory.

Or perhaps your silly little head doesn't realize that High Point qualifies as a small city, not a sleepy, rural town. Why, honey, it even has a newspaper and a teevee station, for your entertainment pleasure.

And those eggs you had? Darlin', that was not lard. It's the restaurant version of butter-flavored shortening. It comes in gallon-sized cans, and is often applied to the griddle with a paintbrush reserved for the chore. I have not used the product myself, but have eaten it any number of times. That's what's used in a lot of the places where I've eaten breakfast.

The grits? Well, we like them. And we consider it hospitable to offer them to our out-of-town guests. In fact, we do sometimes have breakfast without them, but we consider it poor taste not to make the offer if we're feeding the grits-deprived. I hope to goodness someone offered you a buttermilk biscuit, too. If not, you have every right to complain!

Oh, and Krispy Kreme Doughnuts aren't just a delicacy in these parts. We consider them a necessity. And apparently so do a lot of people out there in California, from what I hear tell.

I would invite you to my place next time you're out east, but I smoke, and I hear that bothers you. And I have a particular aversion to uppity people who don't know a good time when you show it to them.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky