Becky Says...

May 4, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






For D.

You've been on my mind all day; more this year than other years. Probably because I had the time to think.

Did you ever realize what a profound impact you had on my life? It's true, even if you might not have realized it. You were one of those rare, wonderful people who made me think, on levels that everyday life doesn't demand. And I thrived on that.

During this week, I've thought of the two pieces of music I most closely associate with you. I have played them, and hummed them. And missed you keenly.

I learned a lot from you. A lot of music, but more about other things.

You had high expectations of me, and I did my damndest to live up to them. Because you always tried to live up to the ones I had of you.

You were the first of the chosen brothers. I'm glad I had a chance to tell you that. And to let you know you were loved.

On this day, your birthday, I celebrate that you were part of my life.

And though I wouldn't have you relive the illness, I wish you were here.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky