Becky Says...

April 16, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Unhappy News

I got some unhappy news today. A friend has just been diagnosed with cancer. I don't know many more details than that, except the doctors plan to start her on chemotherapy later this week. I'm being vague because I don't want to accidentally be the one who breaks this news to other friends or distant relatives.

Let's call her Ann, since she needs a name here.

Her life the last twenty-five years or so has been complicated. She has tried very hard to be a good wife and mother, as well as a good daughter to her parents, whose needs have increased many times as they aged.

I have always been glad that her life was not mine. I'm glad I haven't been faced with the decisions she has been, about making waves or keeping the peace. Most of the time, she has chosen the peacekeeping route. And I admire her for much of that.

Anyway, the next while will be difficult for Ann. Please keep her, and those who care for her, in your prayers and thoughts.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky