Becky Says...

March 20, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Spring and Things

Happy first day of spring! Actually, you can't prove the season arrived in much of North Carolina. Where I am (in the eastern piedmont) it has rained and been chilly all day. And out west, in the mountains, there has been up to a foot of snow. My theory on this is that Mother Nature didn't want to waste those last wintry days she had. Apparently she had reached in her cabinet and pulled out a few warm days ahead of time, then noticed these extra winter ones.

I have just found something I've been looking for, off and on, for several weeks. It was in a safe place---between the last sheet and the cardboard back of a legal pad. And having found it will save me some time, because it's a document I wrote a few years ago and want to reuse for an upcoming project. I had pretty much resigned myself to redoing it from scratch. And I'm glad I won't have to do that.

I haven't updated you on my spam supply recently. You will be pleased to know I am doing so well that every high-interest-rate loan company in North America wants to give me a loan. I'm wondering if they're working closely with the people who want to sell me pictures of naked women. Trust me: if I have a need to see a naked woman, I do not need to pay for the view. All I have to do is take off my clothes.

But my absolute favorite one came last week sometime. Someone wrote and offered to submit "Becky Says..." to all the best search engines. Of course, she wanted me to send her $300.00 for this. I do believe I'll pass.

A hint for those of you who want to use a foreign phrase on something---make sure you know exactly what the phrase means, and that you have the grammar structure right. I saw a Latin phrase the other day that I'm pretty sure was incorrectly written. It was being suggested for use as a tattoo. It would be sad to discover a grammar error in something permanent.

Even the big card companies make errors with this. I once found (and sent) what I thought was the perfect card for a friend's birthday, only to discover that the company had used the wrong phrase in French---which I don't speak, but which the card's recipient does. Oh well, in this case, it was definitely the thought that counted!

Another hint: if you aren't already reading John Bailey's journal of a writing man, you should go see what you've been missing. Stroll through the archives, too.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky