Becky Says...

January 30, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Short Bits

I'm busy multitasking tonight, and I am tired.

We have the computer industry to thank for the word we now use instead of saying, "I'm trying to do several things at once." And I sometimes do that better than other times. It depends on how well I know how to do any of the multi things I'm trying to do.

* * * * * * * * * * *

It's been well over ten years since I've served on a jury, and I don't know if I'm going to have a repeat performance this week. Back in those days, North Carolina didn't have a system where you could call to find out if you had to show up. We do, now, and it's nice. For logistic reasons, I wish you could find out before 5:00 p.m., but so be it. At least I know I don't have to be there tomorrow.

The last time I served, I had the pleasure of seeing a lawyer for the defendant absolutely shred a witness for the plaintiffs, a couple who were claiming way more damage than they actually received in a traffic accident. Here's a clue: if you're planning to sue for a back injury, make sure you actually do go to the doctor. It will help your case!

* * * * * * * * * * *

When I take over the world, on the list of things that will be banned are easily-tripped car alarms. And the penalty for anyone deliberately tripping one just to hear the noise will be life imprisonment.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Enough rambling. Back to the multi tasks at hand.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky