Becky Says...

January 29, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Sad Note

Some days most of the news you get is sad. My journal buddy Dee has had more than her share. Her mother died on Saturday, away from home on vacation. Dee is also having to deal with making a decision about her dog, Midge, whose ailment took a turn for the worse. I cannot imagine having to deal with both these things at the same time. I am glad for Dee's sake that she has family and friends close by to share hugs and tears. And that she's received lots of cyberhugs, too.

Several years before my own mother died, I read a newspaper series having to do with the death of a parent. I couldn't, quite frankly, deal with the information at the time, because my mother was ill and I knew her time would not be too long. I kept the articles, though, and read them later on. One of the most profound things I recall from that series is a comment by a daughter, who said that no woman is ever old enough when her mother dies. And I agree. And that's the lesson I would spare Dee if I could.

As long as my mother was alive, even when she was no longer able to do much for herself, she was still running in the background---like a computer system monitoring program, for one not-very-good example. But she was there. And she could always touch my hand, or hug me, or give me some other sign that said she loved me and knew I loved her. The loss of her physical presence has not been easy. I know I still have her moral support, and her love. But sometimes I would love to be touched and held and talked to and just plain loved in person the way nobody but your mama can love you.

I told you before that if your mother is part of your everyday life, you should go call her. Do it again, please. In memory of my mother, and Dee's mother. and all the other mothers no longer around to answer the phone. And say a prayer for Dee and her family, please. They have lost someone precious.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky