Becky Says...

January 10, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Act of Writing

One thing I miss doing is writing on paper. I don't write much in a paper journal these days, nor do I write as many notes to people to be sent by snail mail.

It isn't that I would want to go back to the days before e-mail was part of my daily routine. I just sometimes wish I was doing the e-mail in handwriting instead of typing it. I like the feel of a pen in my hand. I like seeing words handwritten on a page. And I like my own handwriting---yes, thanks, I know that's vain.

I like fountain pens, but I'm fairly rough on them. I wind up spreading out even the finest points to be in the medium range. But I did discover a workable trick for that---hold the pen backwards. I mean with the shiny side of the nib closer to the paper. Looks a little weird to watch, but it works well.

Something else I like to play around with is using a calligraphy nib with just regular handwriting. It's how I kept my journal for a number of years, just because I wanted to do it.

I have a lot of pens, mostly not fountain pens. Some have colorful ink (peacock blue is a favorite), but most are blue or black. I also have a few of the pens that schools used to have students use, that were dipped into inkwells. (There are perks of being a teacher's child; when something is declared useless to the school system and not salable as surplus, well.....) Those are fun pens to write with, and I do, occasionally. But one must be careful about those bottles of ink!

A real treasure to me is a dip pen that was my father's. This was meant to be used on a desk, and looks a lot like a desk pen of today. But the base of it is an inkwell. And the best part? Many years after his death, it's still in fine shape and perfectly usable.

Hmm---I think I'll go write a letter.

* * * * * * * * * * *

A piece of good news: Patrick is home from the hospital, and well on the road to recovery. He sent e-mail to his notify list this afternoon. The malady causing his problems is a type of vasculitis. Thoughts and prayers are encouraged and appreciated. If you don't know the back story on this, check the last several of Patrick's entries, beginning with this one.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky