Becky Says...

January 1, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






New Year's News

I hope the year started well for you.

In my apartment, as the year arrived, I heard firecrackers and car alarms outside; the former noise causing the latter. I'm not sure the firecracker-lighting people were aware they would set off the alarms. The firecrackers stopped abruptly when the first alarm started.

And the year has started with unpleasant news about a friend in my hometown, who may be dying as I write this.

I spent a lot of today dealing with that. This man was a friend of my father's long before my parents were married. He and his wife were the first two people my mother met in the town. They and their children have been friends of mine all my life. And he's my friend Donna's uncle.

On another, utterly unrelated note, I spent some time this afternoon in an e-mail discussion about the traditional Southern menu for New Year's Day. For the curious, black-eyed peas are to bring you luck, and collard greens are to bring you money.

And no, I didn't fix the traditional meal.

* * * * * * * * * * *

If you want to see Christmas in Beckyland, click here.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky