Becky Says...

December 26, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Cold

It's cold here, and there may be some snow this week. Several people have written today about how cold it is in their locations, too. I'm glad that if I choose to do so, I can stay inside and warm all day.

I am reminded of another winter some years ago when I was working at Non-Profit Agency #1. My office was on the lower floor of the building, and it was almost always cold in there in winter. The thermostat which controlled the system in that section of the building was across the hall from my office, in a room that got a lot of heat from being next to a kitchen and which also had a fireplace.

The upshot was that the thermostat was satisfied that our area was toasty warm, when in fact there was little or no heat in the office area. I kept a space heater going most of the time.

One day the HVAC contractor who had the service contract was in the building for something. I asked, partly out of curiousity but partly for future reference, how much it would cost to transfer the thermostat over to the office side of the hallway. He quoted some figure, then said it wouldn't make any difference, because the reason I was cold in my office was that women were always cold-natured.

Wrong. Bad information, stupidity, never asked his wife, whatever. Wrong in any case. Yes, some women are cold-natured---but many of us are not. Same is true of men, but he wasn't comenting on that gender.

And being not only wrong but rude about it helped cost him some serious money. I told the property chairman of the organization about the exchange, and that was one of the last straws. The contract with that contractor's firm was not renewed.

Okay, here's the obligaory ending line...you could say the contractor was left out in the cold.

* * * * * * * * * * *

If you want to see Christmas in Beckyland, click here.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky