Becky Says...

December 8, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Memory

I have a really good memory, especially for things I may not need to know. It's highly unlikely that anyone is going to ask me for the telephone number my parents had when I was a little girl, for example. But I have it safely tucked into my memory.

If I remember something, it's usually because for some reason it's important to me. Like that phone number I mentioned above---it was recited to me so if I ever needed to know how to tell someone to call home for me, I could.

But I'm really lousy at assigned memorization. I'm not sure if it's some authority-defying thing or what with me. It didn't matter who the teacher was, or why the thing was supposed to be memorized...I just wasn't good at it. Yes, thanks, I know about self-fulfilling prophecies.

One of the nicer things about being through with school is that at no time since I got my degree has anyone tried to make me memorize something.

Another thing that's true of me---that good memory doesn't function as well if I'm really stressed. During the time my mother was ill, I needed to be able to answer the doctors' questions about her medical history. After I had to call one of them back because I remembered something a half-hour later, I sat down and wrote it all out.

I put the information in a word processor file, and kept it updated as things happened. I also made a point of keeping an updated copy handy. Several doctors and nurses along the way were delighted to get the information, because it made their work easier. I recommend this to anyone---for your own history, or for that of someone you might be asked to answer for. It can save a lot of worry and confusion.

* * * * * * * * * * *

And I remember that I told you way before the election that there was one political ad this season that I liked, but that I wouldn't tell you the details till the campaigning was over. It was for a candidate who did win election to a statewide office, by the way. The incumbent was retiring. In the ad, the incumbent and the candidate were seated together. The incumbent said he endorsed her for the job, and thought her qualifications were excellent. No comment at any point about the opponent. That was nice.

Text © copyright 2000 Becky