Becky Says...

November 19, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Snow and Patience

I dozed off to sleep for a nap while it was raining. When I woke up, that had changed to snow. As I looked out the window, I noticed that there was a tree limb not very happy at all with the extra weight of the snow (and sleet from earlier in the day). It was almost ready to land on the roof of my car.

Somehow, that did not suit my notion of things that should happen tonight. So I got myself the rest of the way awake (translation: had some coffee) and went out to move the car to a less-hazardous location. The snow on the car was snowball quality---good and wet, and happy to come off the windshield in blobs, so I didn't have to spend much time cleaning before I could see. There are more parking spaces than cars in this part of the complex, so finding another spot nearby wasn't difficult.

And I decided tonight it was time to turn the heat on in my apartment. I have always been hot-natured, and this keeps my heating bills at a minimum. It also helps that the apartment faces west, so I get the benefit of afternoon sun. But the indoor temperature was low enough that I decided a bit of warmth would be nice.

I am perhaps being smug here, but I am rather pleased at a step toward growing up I seem to have made. In the past several years, I have pretty much stopped getting overly upset over some things that would have, in earlier times, sent me completely over the top. The most recent instance of what I'm talking about isn't the tree-limb-and-car, but is the two computers being out. I realized that getting too upset wouldn't solve anything, but that spending a little money would help part of the situation. I also knew that being a bit patient would not be a bad idea.

Don't get me wrong---I'm as likely to mutter under my breath at things that bring out my impatient streak as I ever was. These days, the phrase I tend to use is "Dammit, dammit, dammit!" But the part of my brain that knows thinking something through and looking for solutions, rather than just being impatient, seems to be ruling these days. And I'm glad.

Although I haven't set it up yet, I have decided the placement for the new computer. That's a major step in the setup process, of course. This is definitely something that needed thinking through---to keep from having to move it!

If you'd like to share a memory of realizing you were growing up, please do!

Text � copyright 2000 Becky