Becky Says...

November 18, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Gifts

I took today off, for the most part. Curled up and got started catching up on my journal-reading, checked in on other sites (I do read some things besides journals!), and did some planning.

One thing I need to do soon is set up my new computer. No, I didn't go buy another machine. This one was a gift. Although it wasn't intended as a birthday gift, the timing of it makes it seem such.

I told you yesterday that my friend Wendy deserves some good guy credits. She and the law firm for which I used to work (she's the legal assistant there) are the donors of this computer. The firm has recently upgraded the computers that were there when I worked for them. This one had been in the office of one of the attorneys, and is in fine shape. He just needed more power and more space, and this machine had been upgraded as far as the case and motherboard would allow. It needed a new home, which I'm happy to provide. For my computing needs, it is amply equipped and then some!

It was originally built by a local computer expert who had retired from IBM. He has since retired from this retirement job, but I know him and his work. He didn't settle for less than the highest quality parts, and his craftsmanship is excellent.

I am sure I will get a lot of use and a lot of pleasure out of having this machine. And I even got my favorite mouse and keyboard to go along with it---the firm believes in letting people who work there have the accessories they prefer, and these were the ones I had chosen. Wendy remembered that, and since no one was using them, she made sure to bring them along. Oh---there's a monitor, too, and speakers. This whole system is just great!

She had mentioned that they had the extra system when she called to firm up plans to come visit yesterday, and said she wished she had thought of it earlier in my computer woes saga. But I said I would welcome having it, so she brought it when she came.

Now all I need to do is make space for it, and set it up. I've been deciding today exactly where I want to put it, and will set it up very soon.

My other present from Wendy, which was intended as a birthday gift, is really neat: a Snood t-shirt. I got her hooked on the game a while back---after playing it for a while, she sent e-mail to me saying that if this is what I did to my fiends she would hate to see what I do to an enemy.

Since she helped get me hooked on Taipei several years ago, I merely pointed out that paybacks were hell. In fact, when I bought my first laptop. I told Wendy that the two things I bought it to do were play Taipei and have my own CardFile---to which she had also introduced me.

That hasn't stopped her from referring to me as "that evil woman in (my town)."

I think we're still going to be friends, though, especially since I am Aunt Becky to all her pets. Her Golden Retriever, Robbie, came along for the visit. He's serving as office dog these days, and is very good at his job. It requires him to hold down the carpet and lift his head whenever a client comes in. He also has to endure being told what a good boy he is. Tough job, but he's up to it.

Great gifts, and a great visit with Wendy and Robbie. Can you tell I'm a happy girl?

Text � copyright 2000 Becky