Becky Says...

November 8, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Day

This day has been one of exasperation and contemplation. And I'm not talking about politics. The move to Canada that several of us were planning last night is on hold.

The exasperation is due to there being an apparent short in the power supply for my main computer. So everything I've done that involved computing has been done on the older machine. I never did plan to sell it, and that was one of my better decisions. It's a trooper. But it is much slower than the newer one.

The most exasperating thing about the power supply for the newer one is that the supply is not yet six months old. The original one just flat out quit working. At least this time, the supply's adapter is still functioning, but it's pretty clear that the computer isn't getting any power.

And the contemplation comes from this being the anniverary of my father's death. I don't have a ritual about it or anything, but each year I do wonder what it would have been like to have had him alive as I grew up. And I remember the wonderful times we spent together.

I also think of my mother, and how her life might have been different. I look back on those first days after his death, and don't know how she got through it. I was lucky to have her to lean on.

Lots to contemplate.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky