Becky Says...

November 7, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Election Night

I rarely drink booze. Tonight, though, would be a wonderful night to pitch a drunk. I'm sitting here watching election results. I'm not commenting on the Presidential race, which as I write is still in question. However, I am making plans for a move to Canada if need be on that one...

Nope, I'm talking about one of the statewide races here in North Carolina, where someone I utterly cannot stand has just won. The only good thing about this is that the position the scunbag won doesn't carry that much power.

At least those damned ads are over.

And I had the pleasant experience of getting in and out of my polling place in under fifteen minutes. I went in midafternoon, prepared to wait, but was glad I didn't have to. In fact, I was back in my apartment twenty minutes after I left.

I have been voting a lot of years, and remember one memorable year in which nobody I voted for won. And another year, when a friend was running for town council in the next town over from mine, and I wished him luck. He lost. The next time he ran, I told him that I would not wish him luck, on the off chance that my good wishes had cost him the prior election. He thanked me, and he won.

Now do you see why I keep my preferences to myself?

* * * * * * * * * * *

One thing I don't have to worry about, though, is sending my good wishes to Dee for her birthday. Nobody is opposing me on that! Come add a wish to the Happy Birthday thread, if you'd like.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky