Becky Says...

September 27, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Keeping Sane

Several things are on my mind today, all related to efforts to keep sane.

I've written more than once about my business and my clients. For the most part, I have great clients, and enjoy my work. By the way, the potential client referred to as yuppieboy in this entry hasn't called again. Considering his track record, I'm not surprised!

I have reached a few decisions. More precisely, I've figured out how to implement decisions I've already made. First of all, I have completely stopped dealing with work-related phone calls and e-mails during non-business hours. I am letting voice mail deal with the calls, and if I get e-mail that's work-related, I'll reply to it during business hours.

And the rates are gradually going up some. I've realized I need to be paid more for the knowledge and experience behind my work. I always have the discretion to do pro bono work if someone really needs my assistance but can't afford the rate.

And I'm going to quit listening to any news stories related to the one political item that's being covered in painfully excruciating detail this year---not a candidate, but a bond referendum having to do with state-supported higher education in North Carolina. Both those in favor of and those opposed to the bonds have developed preachy, moralistic stances. And the facts are getting lost in the sermonizing. So I'm going for the mute button whenever I hear the topic mentioned.

Anything making you crazy? Feel free to vent here!

Text � copyright 2000 Becky