Becky Says...

September 21, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Silences

I woke up early this morning. After I went in search of coffee, I decided to check e-mail and read the journals I usually read late at night. A friend of mine was also up, and we exchanged a couple of sentences by instant messages. After that, we lapsed into silence, and just kept each other virtual company for a while.

That was nice. It reminded me of an evening long ago when I was first learning to knit. I spent the evening with a friend who was working on a needlepoint project.

After the first few minutes of the visit, we sat and worked silently on our respective projects for at least an hour. I don't remember exactly what broke the silence, but I do recall my friend saying that we must be very confortable with each other, since we didn't have to fill the silence with chat.

With my friend this morning, it was enough for both of us to see the other was still there.

I'm not suggesting that there's something superior about spending time without talking; I love good conversations with good friends. I'm saying it's nice when two people know each other well enough that this kind of silence is occasionally possible.

The rest of my day was quiet. How was yours?

Text © copyright 2000 Becky