Becky Says...

September 15, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Company!

Yesterday I had a treat. A friend came to visit, and brought her German Shepherd. We had lunch in Chapel Hill, then went for a walk. My friend and I have kept in touch by e-mail ever since a couple of weeks after I first went online. We don't get to see each other very often, but we do have an idea what's going on in each other's lives.

And the dog is a love. I had been hoping for a chance to meet him, and was glad that my friend suggested the afternoon outing. He's almost thirteen months old, and is one of the few German Shepherds I've ever been around who wasn't attack-trained. He's been through obedience training, and it's obvious that the training worked. He still has enough of that puppy energy to be rambunctious, but when he's told to stop, stop he does! Which is a good thing since he's large and very strong.

Our walk started on the Carolina campus. I think we all enjoyed being on the campus. There were both new and old sights for the humans to enjoy, and lots of great areas to explore for the canine.

After walking on the campus, we did some window-shopping on Franklin Street, which is a dog-friendly area. Then we went by non-profit agency #1, hoping to have a chance to say hello to some mutual friends there. Unfortunately, we hit a time when no one we knew was around, so we headed back to the car to come back to my apartment.

We probably should have stayed put a few minutes, because we wound up caught in one of those famous Chapel Hill downpours. We hurried as best we could back to the car, but all three of us were soaked. We shared a towel in the car---good planning on my friend's part!

We got back to my apartment, but my friend decided the two of them would head back to their home, since all of us needed some serious drying out. But even though it was cut a bit short, it was a really nice afternoon for me.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Check out the forum! Several people have come to say hello, and to give me advice regarding charging new clients (much appreciated). You're welcome to post to one of the existing topics, or start your own.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Happy Birthday, Patrick! By the way, this is the last weekend to see his play, Statics and Dynamics; try to if you're in the Boston area.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky