Becky Says...

August 25, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Favorites

It's interesting writing these entries. Sometimes I find out things about myself I hadn't realized, at least not in depth.

For instance, I was going to write about how I don't have favorites. The idea was prompted by my reading through answers to a question about favorites. I found myself agreeing with just about all the people who responded, on the merits of their favorites. So I had an idea for an entry!

I started thinking about the notion of favorites, and how in a lot of areas, it's true that I don't have favorites. I don't have a favorite song, or a favorite book, or a favorite movie.

An example: a few years ago, the pastor of my congregation asked the members to list their favorite hymns. I thought about it for a few days, and the next time I saw the pastor, I jokingly asked him if I could just tell him which two hymns in the hymnal I didn't particularly like.

That would have been a great lead-in to how I don't have favorites! But then I realized that concerning a lot of other aspects of my life, I do have favorites.

I have a favorite color (blue), and lots of favorite brands of things. And I have favorite foods, and favorite routes to get places, and a favorite part of North Carolina (the mountains). And so forth and so on.

And there went the entry on not having favorites.

You get this admission instead!

Text � copyright 2000 Becky