Becky Says...

August 18, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Breaking the Rules

Sometimes you get what you ask for. I had occasion this morning to be in touch with a company with which I really want to do business. The only drawback was one little tiny contract provision that would have made my working with them much more difficult.

I decided to get in touch with the company to ask if there were any way we could amend the contract, and explained my problem with the provision. And they were amenable, so I will be working with them.

They wouldn't have lost much, if anything, if they hadn't been willing to work with me. I would have either amended my plans to make them work within the contract provision, or found another company to work with. But there was certainly no harm in asking.

So why did they say yes? Apparently because they're really nice people who understood that I was telling the truth. And for trusting me when they didn't have to, they've moved up several notches on the good-guys scale. They had my admiration before this interaction. Now they have my loyalty to go with it.

I've said before that I start out trusting people to be honest with me. I'm glad I'm not the only one!

Text � copyright 2000 Becky